Mícheál Ó Súilleabháin concert

I played in a lovely concert as part of the Clonmel junction festival last Friday. We played Madison’s descent by By Mícheál Ó Súilleabháin
A choral suite for piano, choir, chamber orchestra, solo voice and saxophone.
There was a standing ovation at the end of the concert and I enjoyed chatting to the audience members before the cross country drive home through the dark hills!
Piano: Mícheál Ó Súilleabháin
Conductor: Fergus Sheil
Saxophone: Kenneth Edge
Soprano: Claudia Boyle
The Clonmel Junction Festival Choir
The Carolan Chamber Orchestra

The Clonmel Festival choristers will join Mícheál Ó Súilleabháin, a 14 piece chamber orchestra and the soloists to perform Ó Súilleabháin’s choral suite “Madison’s Descent”. Together, under the baton of Fergus Sheil, they will bring us on a very special adventure.
Madison’s Descent is artist Paige Allen’s impression of the journey a soul makes to its birth. Inspired by this story Ó Súilleabháin has composed this textured and moving choral suite, which receives its European Premiere in Junction Festival.
The performance of Madison’s Descent will be preceded by a short recital by Ó Súilleabháin with the Carolan Chamber Orchestra of some of his favourite compositions.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.